Kathmandu Valley or historically known as Nepal valley or Nepa valley with seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites is the most developed and populated place in Nepal. Today Kathamandu along with adjoining medieval cities of Bhaktapur and Lalitpur ( Patan ) makes Kathmandu Valley. The name Kathmandu originated from the word Kasthamandap (Wooden Pavilion) is also known as Kantipur (city of light/beauty) during medieval times. Blessed by the living Goddess Kumari, Kathmandu experiences ceremonial processes and events every now and then by the devotees seeking spiritual satisfaction.

World Heritage Sites and Royal Squares surrounded by ancient temples, idols and shrines takes the visitors to a different world of medieval era. Kathmandu is also an important pilgrim for Buddhists as has many centuries old Stupas and monasteries where hundreds of Buddhist monks live and practice their religion. Walking through the streets of the medieval cities of Kathmandu is a lifetime experience of another world.

Kathmandu is also the base city for trekking to highest mountain peak of Everest and second highest peak of Annapurna Mountain range. There are numerous trekking facilities available to these peaks amidst Himalayan range. Another option is to take a short Mount Everest flight of about an hour or so to have a glimpse of the Mount Everest.

Places of Interests

Kathmandu Darbar Square

Swayambhunath Stupa

Patan Darbar Square

Bhaktapur Durbar Square

Pashupatinath Temple

Thamel - The Heart of Kathmandu

Culinary Experiences in Kathmandu

Dhulikhel - The View of Himalayas

Changu Narayan - The Oldest Temple

Namo Buddha

Singing Bowls

Everest Experience - The Mountain Flight

Breakfast at the top of the World

Trek to Everest

You might also like :

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.